Dr Nokugcina Mhlophe, actress, storyteller, poet, playwright, director and author will deliver the 10th International African Writers’ Day Lecture, at the Africa Century International African Writers’ Conference on 7th November 2022, marking the 31st anniversary of the African Union-(formerly OAU) declared International African Writers’ Day, at: Freedom Park Heritage Site and MuseumKoch St &, 7th Ave, Salvokop, Pretoria

The theme of this year is: “Indigenous Knowledge and Decoloniality: The Role of Education, Arts, Culture, Heritage and Recreation in Rebuilding Resilience Post-Trauma and Into The Future.”

In 2021, the major theme of the 9th Africa Century International African Writers Conference (ACIAWC) was: Decolonised Literary Arts, Culture, Heritage and Expression in Times of Pandemic Crises: Celebrating the International Year of Creative Economy and Sustainable Development, delivered by Prof Puleng LenkaBula, the Vice Chancellor and Principal of the University of South Africa. President Thabo Mbeki delivered the inaugural edition thereof in 2012, followed by Ms Samia Nkrumah, Prof Micere Mugo, Minister Nathi Mthethwa, Profs Mandla Makhanya, Zodwa Motsa and Kwesi Kwaa Prah, among the distinguished line of speakers and scholars. 

Mr Morakabe Raks Seakhoa, Director of the Conference, said “…this year (2022), given the welcome receding impact of the pandemic Covid19, the Conference theme looks at the aftermath of such trauma within the context of the necessary focus on the struggle against coloniality in our educational and the living arts in general.”.

Co-respondents to the keynote address by Dr Mhlophe are Ms Jane Mufamadi, CEO of Freedom Park Museum and Heritage Site and former South African Consul-General to Italy, Mr Saul Molobi, author, poet, editor, publisher and brand marketing specialist.

The International African Writers Day Lecture is a key defining event of the Africa Century International African Writers Conference.

The Africa Century International African Writers’ Conferenceaims to, as the then-OAU’s Conference of African Ministers of Education and Culture (meeting in Coutonou, Benin, in 1991) resolved, “… afford the African people a moment of pause within which to reflect on the contribution of African Writers to the development of the Continent”.

The Conference will culminate in the 17th Annual South African Literary Awards (SALA) prize-giving ceremony. Since 2005, these premier literary accolades have honoured close to 300 authors in sixteen categories and eleven official languages.

Announcement of the Shortlisted Nominees of the S.A Literary Awards 2022

in the evening, this lecture will be followed by the South African Literary Awards 2022 in the same venue. The over 30 judges of the South African Literary Awards (SALA) Adjudication Panel spent months rigorously reading, scrutinising and scoring the 200+ books that answered to the Call for Submissions issued earlier in 2022.

Following this exhaustive process of adjudication, the South African Literary Awards (SALA) is proud to announce the short list for 2022 edition.

The huge number and diversity of books submitted are a testimony to the amazing journey SALA has travelled since the inaugural ceremony held at the Durban International Convention Centre, Kwa-Zulu Natal, on the 5th March 2005, in honour of South Africa’s world-renowned scholar, author, eminent yet unsung poet of majestic epics and literary genius, Prof. Mazisi Kunene.

Out of the 266 submissions received, 38 titles made it to the shortlist, under the following categories and languages:

Children’s Literature Award


2. Fanie Viljoen – Ouma Mollie en die mensvreter

3. Nandipha Nomsobo – Qashi Qashi, Injani?

4. Niky Daly – On My Papa’s Shoulders

5. Owethu Onez Ndlakuse-Mholweni – igama lam ngu-Owethu

First Time Published Award

1. Basil Lawrence – At the Edge of the desert

2. Razina Theba – A Home On Vorster Street

3. Herschelle Benjamin – In Slavenhuis 39

4. Mmabore Gladys Mogashoa – Bohwa bja rena

Youth Literature Award

1. Ashraf Kagee – By the Fading Light

2. Theodora Lee – Hashtag Happy

3. Daniëlla van Heerden – As jy droom

4. Thulani Alfred Simayile – Unolali


6. Thatayaone Dire – Se sa feleng se a tlhola

7. Maureen Ngwanamahlole Ramusi – Matlampulele Meduping ya Lerato

k. Sello Duiker Memorial Literary Award

1. Nick Mulgrew – A Hibiscus Coast

2. Lebohang Mazibuko – Bantu Knots

3. Mzoli Mavimbela – Amazwembezwembe KaGxuluwe

Poetry Award

1. Ashwin Arendse – Swatland

2. Joan Hambidge – Nomadiese sterre

3. Bafana Charlse Peter – Umkhumezelo umqulu 1, Umkhumezelo umqulu 2

4. Sibongile Maputi – Unozala uyalunywa

5. Takalani Lishivha – Khali Ya Lufuno

6. Thatayaone Dire – Kgatsele ya puo

Nadine Gordimer Short Story Award

1. Sally Cranswick – Women out of Water

2. Mzoli Mavimbela – Zigqitywa Kuhlwile Zibonwe Liwuhlabile

3. SJ Naudé – Mad Honey

Creative Non-Fiction Literary Award

1. Ebrahim Harvey – The Great Pretenders: Race and Class Under ANC Rule

2. Pumla Dineo Gqola – Female Fear Factory

3. Nicol Stassen – Van Humpata tot Upingtonia

Literary Translators Award

1. Tuelo Gabonewe – Tshika Fa E Ya Baneng

Novel Award

1. Damon Galgut – The Promise

2. Ingrid Winterbach – Voorouer. Pelgrim. Berg

3. Jan van Tonder – Grootgeluk

4. Yamkela Ntwalana – Intlungu Yevezandlebe

5. Phindile Memani – Emhadini Wemigulukudu

6. Patrick Khosa – Nhlokonho wa vele


For more information on how to register to attend both events, please visit the following websites:




Or write to: