Jambo Africa Online – An introduction

Jambo Africa Online was launched in September 2020 as a monthly digital publication (distributed as a .PDF) as a premier pan-African platform aimed at those committed to making valuable contributions to the growth, renewal and transformation of our continent’s economic landscape and deriving maximum value out of the implementation of the Africa Continental Free Trade Agreement (AfCFTA). It then developed into a weekly news portal on 3 May 2021 in keeping with the latest research in media consumption. The latest trends have indicated that in the past ten years the readership on mobile platforms has increased by 460% (from 45 minutes to 4 hours 12 minutes) and on desktop by 26%; while the losers were TV which decreased by 24%, radio by 19% and magazines by 50%. These commensurated with the statistics on internet penetration in Africa.

Just as a brief background, the AfCFTA is an offspring of the African Union (AU), established by 55 member states signed by 54 and ratified by 42 countries. It became operationalised from 1 January 2021 creating the biggest Free Trade Zone globally with over 1.27 billion consumers! It seeks to integrate Africa into a single market with a combined GDP of over $3.6 trillion.

As Africa asserts herself to create a single market, Jambo Africa Online provides:
A genuinely valuable source of information to a huge captive audience of powerful investors, key decision makers in the public and private sectors, policy makers, captains of industry, business chambers, diplomatic corps, academic think tanks AS WELL AS individual entrepreneurs.

In-depth ANALYSES of common issues, methods and practical experiences INCLUDING present in-depth research and case histories which have tangible practical value.

A sublime opportunity to cover key issues, campaigns, events, products, services, management and best practices.

AN OPPORTUNITY FOR distinguished contributors TO OPINE INSOFAR as MATTERS RELATED TO improving efficiency, efficacy and effectiveness ACROSS the continent in line with the rising expectations.

Advertising opportunities FOR PRODUCT AND SERVICE PROVIDERS

IN LINE WITH THE RULES OF ORIGIN AND RELAXATION OF TARIFFS GUIDING THE TRADE ZONE, Jambo Africa Online is biased towards efforts aimed at creating a continental economy that is serviced by products made in Africa, by Africa and for the benefit of all Africans with the world forming part of the customer base.

This is a platform to brand position Africa’s products and services to compete successfully against foreign brands imported into the continent.

It synergises with the other programmes undertaken by Brandhill Africa – namely, the Africa IPA CEO Forum, which is a structured engagement mechanism for CEOs of investment promotion agencies (IPAs) on the continent (this project is championed in collaboration with the Gauteng Growth and Development Agency); and the Biashara Services and Products Africa (BiSPA) Conference and Exhibition (a series of annual conferences launched in December 2020 interspersed with quarterly webinars). So the publication is distributed to these CEOs and management of economic development agencies; African diplomatic corps resident in South Africa (partners to BiSPA Conference and Exhibition); and delegates to the conferences who are highly active in the Jambo Africa Online’s WhatsApp groups.

Brandhill Africa has forged strategic partnerships with member-based institutions such as the African Business Council (ABC) which was established by the African Union; and the Pan African Chamber of Commerce and Infustry (PACCI) which was established by the private sector – both institutions are pan African business federations whose members are business chambers across the entire continent. So the news portal is circulated to the leadership of these institutions.

Besides the link being emailed to subscribers, each edition is promoted through social media platforms. The key one is LinkedIn in which the publisher has 30 300 followers who are then encouraged to share the link with their networks. The platform’s analytics categorise the demographics of our readers as, inter alia, 42.3% being in business development; 25% as senior directors; 19% as directors; 33% as chief experience officers or executives reporting into the CEOs; and 9% as business owners. These mean we’re reaching the 5 to top end LSM category groups. Other promotional platforms include Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

Brandhill Africa is a pan African competitive identity and public diplomacy group which was decorated with the “Best Brand Award” at the World Brand Congress’ “Brand Leadership Awards 2021”.

The group has also forged formal strategic partnerships with credible institutions. It’s a Strategic Partner to UNISA Enterprises (Pty) Ltd and Enterprises UP – these are revenue generating agencies of the University of South Africa and the University of Pretoria respectively. It is also a Strategic Partner to Proudly South African (Proudly SA); a Supporting Partner to the African Agri Council (which has members in the agribusiness space across the continent); a member of the World Free Zones Organisation (World FZO); and a member of both the African Tourism Board (ATB) and World Tourism Network (WTN).

PUBLISHING STAFF
Editorial Advisory Board: Dr Thami Mazwai (Chairperson); Angela Asante Akua (Ghana); Francois Fouche (RSA); Namatirai Zinyohwera (Zimbabwe/RSA); Mlungisi Mpofu (Namibia); Dr Bamidele Adeoye (Nigeria/USA); Saul Molobi (RSA); and Andile Msindwana (Secretariat)
Editor: Andile Msindwana (andile.msindwanai@brandhillafrica.com)
Deputy Editor: Dithako Nakedi (dithako.nakedi@brandhillafrica.com)
Associate Editor: Ofentse Nthite (ofentse.nthite@brandhillafrica.com)
Chief Sub-Editor: Masechaba Sefularo (masechaba.sefularo@brandhillafrica.com)
Senior Editorial Correspondents: Francois Fouche (Trade & Investment); and, Ofentse Nthite (Youth and Women Affairs)
Group Creative & Production Director: Lee Gomez (lee.gomez@brandhillafrica.com); Selemogo Maleho, Graphic Designer (selemogo.maleho@brandhillafrica.com); Malose Mahapa (Webmaster); Simba Mdena (Videography); Mogorosi Motshumi (Cartoonist)

Photography: Please note most of the photographs we use are publicity photographs from the institutions.

GROUP CORPORATE SERVICES
Marketing Services: Executive Head, Moshitadi Modiba (moshitadi.modiba@brandhillafrica.com); Geruza Nzongo Bumba, Group Brand Manager (geruza.bumba@brandhillafrica.com); Buhle Mnguni, Social Media Manager (buhle.mnguni@brandhillafrica.com): and Mpho Molobi, Public Relations Manager (mpho.molobi@brandhillafrica.com)
Group Business Development Services: Executive Head, Lucia Mabunda (lucia.mabunda@brandhillafrica.com), Executive: Business Development Services – Brandhill Africa Media Holdings (Pty) Ltd: Kentridge Mathabatha (kentridge.mathabatha@brandhillafrica.com)
Group Human Capital: Mangi Motloli, Executive Head (mangi.motlolii@brandhillafrica.com)
Group Chief Operations Officer: Carol Khoza (carol.khoza@brandhillafrica.com); and Phidiso Thato Lee, Management intern; Tshepo Ramasimong, Management Intern (tshepo.ramasimong@brandhillafrica.com)
Publisher: Saul Molobi (saul.molobi@brandhillafrica.com)

GROUP EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE
Group Chairman: Saul Molobi (saul.molobi@brandhillafrica.com)
Deputy Group Chairperson (Non-Executive): Dr Nomalanga Sibeko (nomalanga.sibeko@brandhillafrica.com)
Deputy Chairperson (Non-Executive) – Brandhill Africa Foundation NPC: Lebogang Nkadimeng (lebogang.nkadimeng@brandhillafrica.com)
CEO – Brandhill Africa (Pty) Ltd: Saul Molobi
CEO – Brandhill Africa Media Holdings (Pty) Ltd: Andile Msindwana (andile.msindwanai@brandhillafrica.com)
CEO – Brandhill Africa Investment Holdings (Pty) Ltd: Saul Molobi (saul.molobi@brandhillafrica.com)
CEO – Brandhill Africa Institute (Pty) Ltd: Stevens Mokgalapa (stevens.mokgalapa@brandhillafrica.com)
CEO – Brandhill Africa Entertainment Holdings (Pty) Ltd: Tshepo Molobi (tshepo.molobi@brandhillafrica.com)
CEO – Brandhill Africa Foundation NPC: Tshepo Molobi (tshepo.molobi@brandhillafrica.com)

STRATEGIC STAKEHOLDER PARTNERSHIPS
New business Development: Sisa Njikelana, Sinakoyoli Consulting, sisa.njikelana@sinakoyoli.com
Growth Partnership (including Accounting and Audit Consulting: Themba Mabena, Mbhuduma Accounting Services, (themba@mbhuduma.co.za)

JAMBO AFRICA ONLINE IS PUBLISHED BY:

Brandhill Africa™
4th Floor, The Firs
Corner Bierman and Cradock Avenue
Rosebank
JOHANNESBURG
2196
Telephone: +27 11 759 4297
eMail info@brandhillafrica.com
Website: www.brandhillafrica.com